The 10 Best Films of the 1990s, that I’ve seen (and in my opinion)

by George Watches Things

Today, we continue counting down the decades. We’re so close, too!

10. Croupier


Croupier is just utterly fascinating. It’s an amazing study of humans and what they do, and Clive Owen (who I’ve never really liked) is brilliant in it. Runner-ups: Edward Scissorhands, Gattaca, Manhattan Murder Mystery, and Trainspotting.

9. My Cousin Vinny

The movie that made me fall in love with Marisa Tomei. My Cousin Vinny is full of heart without being corny or giving up its side-splitting nature. An interesting double-feature pair with The Lincoln Lawyer. Or Bernie, for that matter.

8. The Fugitive

If his roles in the Star Wars and Indiana Jones franchises didn’t win you over to Harrison Ford’s side, The Fugitive might just do that. In the film, he’s framed for his wife’s murder, and must become a (you guessed it) fugitive. The film is tense throughout, and Ford is really good in it, even though Tommy Lee Jones is better as the FBI agent chasing him. The awkward conspiracy stuff at the end is excusable.

7. The Silence of the Lambs

Over the next year, we’ll get to see two TV spin-offs of The Silence of the Lambs. Lifetime is developing something called Clarice, and NBC has already ordered 13 episodes of Hannibal. If you don’t feel like watching the two brilliant main characters of the film separated (because you know, they are what make the film), then you can just rent the film version.

6. Babe

Oh, Babe. The other day, while preparing for the 2009 catch-up festival, I told my friend I had just seen “the most charming film.” (Review coming in early June!) But then I had to take it back, because I knew that just wasn’t true. Babe is the most charming film I’ve ever seen and ever expect to see. Talking animal films have so little to offer now-a-days. It’s a pity they didn’t learn from Babe and Babe: respect and develop your characters.

5. Toy Story 2

One of Pixar’s best efforts, for sure. It’s my personal favorite from the Toy trilogy, and I think it is timeless. I find it surprising that Toy Story 2 came out back in 1999 each time I read it, though.

4. The Truman Show

My former favorite all-time film (I’ll make a list one day)… I know it very well. See, world, Jim Carrey can do things other than dance with penguins and just look generally creepy. The Truman Show is a triumph thanks to him.

3. Fargo

I’ve only seen two Coen Brothers films, and I can’t tell which is my favorite. Fargo, though, is one of the funniest movies I’ve ever seen. So many people in over their heads… flopping around on the ice like a fish out of water. It’s cruel, really. But so funny. Frances McDormand’s famous line at the end is brilliant as well.

2. Fearless

Fearless is a true gem. I credit it (as well as Certified Copy and Rabbit Hole) for piquing my interest in film. Jeff Bridges, Rosie Perez, and Isabella Rosselini are all very good. But it’s the daring plot, flashbacks, and minor details that I’m enchanted by.

1. Pulp Fiction

What else? Pulp Fiction is just plain brilliant. It would be powerful if it were straightforward chronologically, but there’s something really special about seeing  [highlight for SPOILER] Vincent Vega get shot halfway through, then finishing the movie with him. And other effects of the out-of-order plot. Also, I don’t really care about the briefcase. I largely ignore that in my memory.