My Month in Pop Culture: February

by George Watches Things

Today, we recap the second month of 2012, pop-culturally. Last time, The Larry Sanders Show took home gold, while Community’s suspension was named the worst. Enjoy, and feel free to post your own picks. Mine are in no particular order, unless otherwise indicated (except for the winner/loser, of course).

The Best

Yes, Annie. Those really are 30 Rock's ratings. No, Annie. I don't know why they hate just you.

1. The weirdly awesome parade of big TV ratings that is February. First there’s the Super Bowl. Then, two weeks later, we have the Grammys. Then, to finish things off, two weeks later, the Oscars show up. As much as I hate the month, February has something going with this scheduling thing.

2. Re-watching the second season of Parks and Recreation. Oh my God, I love this show. I feel like I underestimate its earlier seasons a bit too much, and if you haven’t revisited its early days since you started loving it, I suggest you do too.

3. Community grabbing a return date. You guys know how much I love Community, so it should come as no surprise that I’m pumped it’s coming back. I love the fact that NBC is promoting it, as well.

4. Drive. “You tell me where we start, where we’re going, where we’re going afterwards. I give you five minutes when we get there. Anything happens in that five minutes and I’m yours. No matter what. Anything a minute on either side of that and you’re on your own. I don’t sit in while you’re running it down. I don’t carry a gun. I drive.

5. Frasier. I haven’t really allowed you guys into my life enough. So, why not share with you the fact that I’m ultra pretentious and snooty. I had to deliver a speech in Professional Communication class today, and one of the lines was “I love a good, pretentious slice of cinematic art… especially if it’s foreign.” So, naturally, I love Frasier. And I’m glad I start my mornings with it.

The Bad

"I'm gonna need this."

1. Party Down leaving NetflixThis one really gets me going. I love Party Down… it’s one of my Top 12 Favorite Modern Comedies. But I’m disappointed that Netflix couldn’t come to terms with Starz on a new deal to keep this show (and many others on Netflix). The point is to become more valuable to your subscribers, guys. Don’t be an NBC.

2. Are You There, Chelsea? continuing to exist. You can say I was too lazy to change this one from last month’s list, but this being alive still is bad news for the world.

3. Justin Bieber at the Oscars. In what way was this necessary?

4. The guilt I feel because I didn’t go see Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close or War Horse. I hate this. These movies were open for so long in my town, and I didn’t go to see either of them. Now I’ll never know if The Artist really deserved to win!

5. The Tree of Life not winning Best Cinematography. I am a part of the “trophy generation.” (No, it’s okay, you can call us that because it’s true.) I’m usually opposed to giving everyone over a certain age (probably 6) a trophy for participating, but the Oscars got this one wrong. Even if you didn’t think it was the best, you had to throw this movie a bone. I was neither expecting nor rooting for it to win Best Picture, but I thought this was one it could and should have won.

And The Rest

From best to worst:
  1. Happy Endings… undoubtedly my favorite non-Parks and not benched show on the air right now
  2. Being Elmo: A Puppeteer’s Journey
  3. Mary and Max
  4. A handful of episodes from the second season of The Larry Sanders Show
  5. Le Havre
  6. The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro
  7. Running Wilde, a show that had terrible episodes but is really fun on the whole
  8. Dead Poets Society
  9. 30 Rock‘s roller-coaster sixth season
  10. Cougar Town‘s woeful ratings
