Best 2011 Comedic Cameo/Limited Role Performance

by George Watches Things

Just a note before we start: I’d like to thank all of you who voted in the poll. These were nominated by me, but chosen by you! Congrats and thanks again!

Honorable mentions

  • Nick Frost as Ron in Attack the Block,
  • Jim O’Heir as Jerry Gergich on Parks and Recreation,
  • Russell Peters as Max Denoff in Source Code,
  • Alia Shawkat as Bree in Cedar Rapids,
  • Aaron Sorkin as Himself on 30 Rock

5.

Ben Schwartz as Jean-Ralphio on Parks and Recreation

I had to break a tie between Schwartz and Peters, and it wasn’t very hard. Jean-Ralphio makes me, and Parks viewers all over the world, gleeful whenever he makes an appearance onscreen. He had some quite touching (albeit graphic) lines in their most recent episode, Citizen Knope. I’m paraphrasing here: “and then she ripped the hair out of my butthole.”

3T.

John Goodman as Vice Dean Laybourne on Community and Sigourney Weaver as Macy in Cedar Rapids and The Big Guy in Paul

I didn’t break this one, and I won’t break the next tie, either. If I were to make this list, Goodman would probably be an honorable mention, but you guys seem to like what we’ve seen from him so far. Some would say he hasn’t shown us enough, but I would argue that they haven’t given him enough to do… perhaps in part because they’re afraid/not all that willing to take risks while they’re in a fragile state.

Weaver, however, is always given enough to do, and steals all the scenes she’s in. She amazing at playing small roles in comedies. She nails these two, and I’m proud to have her picture on my blog (again).

And the winners are…

The Gotham Awards did it. So can I. Ladies and gentlemen, we have two winners.

Elizabeth Banks as Avery Jessup-Donaghy on 30 Rock and Cloris Leachman as Maw Maw on Raising Hope

I don’t even want to break this one. It was clear. 50% of votes went to these two (do the math). They’re both equally hilarious and I love them. Congrats, ladies, and thanks for voting guys!

