And the best picture of the 1970s is…

by George Watches Things

The Godfather.

It wasn’t even close.

I didn’t vote because the 1970s is the decade in film that I am least familiar with. I’ve only seen 24 movies from that decade. But I’m glad we chose the 1970s, all the same. I’ve learned about films I had never heard about before.

Here’s the voting breakdown:

  1. The Godfather (32 points)
  2. Chinatown (22 points)
  3. The Godfather, Part II (20 points)
  4. Star Wars (17 points)
  5. Monty Python and the Holy Grail (9 points)

Dog Day and Jaws finished with 6 a piece, The Conversation had 5, and Amarcord had 4. Being There and The French Connection tied for 10th with only one point each. Annie Hall and All the President’s Men were deemed the worst out of this group by you, each getting -1 points. (That shocked me for All the President’s Men, probably my favorite movie out of that decade.)

These were the movies that weren’t great enough, but also not “just good”/average/bad enough to be mentioned… the following are movies you guys left off:

  • All That Jazz
  • Harold and Maude
It was a very successful polling process, and next year we’ll do another decade. Thanks so much for all of you who participated! Your thoughts?
