Top 10 Pixar Movies

by George Watches Things

I will not mention two (2) films, because I haven’t seen one (1), and I can’t remember the other.

10. Cars (2006) – It’s stylish and colorful, but there isn’t much behind that.
9. Toy Story 3 (2010) – It’s kind of overrated, guys! I was drawn out by the ending, because it was so sappy, and the exit of a certain purple/rosemary colored character.
8. The Incredibles (2004) – It’s fun and pretty. A bit blatant with it’s family theme, but enjoyable all the same. This American Life’s Sarah Vowell provides the voice of Violet.
7. Monsters, Inc. (2001) – The characters are the movie. That was Pixar’s early motto, and I’m very glad. The film turns dark late, and I felt it was a bit of a cop out, but still one of my favorites.
6. Toy Story (1995) – It was the first, and it deserves credit for that. But the sequel was better.
5. Ratatouille (2007) – You can eat this movie with your eyes. It gets sitcomy at points, but it’s still beautiful: physically and emotionally.
4. Toy Story 2 (1999) – One of my favorite movies from the nineties. It made Tom Hanks cry. Enough said!
3. Up (2009) – One of the last few films that I cried at (The Blind Side, Never Let Me Go, Source Code are the others). It’s so colorful, and so much fun. Ed Asner not being nominated for an Oscar? Biggest snub ever.
2. Finding Nemo (2003) – Where The Incredibles fails, Finding Nemo succeeds. It nails the family message, without being over-the-top. And it’s legitimately funny, legitimately gorgeous, and has plenty of quotable lines.
1. Wall-e (2008) – For the first 40 minutes, there are practically no lines. But this is not a problem. In fact, it’s the movie’s strength. Some critics call it too “heavy-handed in its message” (Maltin)¹. But I guess I’ll just have to disagree with that.

Agree? Violently disagree? Tell me in the comments section!

¹Yes, I used a parenthetical citation. No, you’re not getting a works cited page.

