Dogtooth (2010)

by George Watches Things

****

This is one of those movies to which it pays to go “cold”. I knew almost nothing about this film before seeing it. I had seen one still image, heard one piece of information about the plot, and I had read that it is disturbing. And I’m glad I didn’t know anything else.

Now, before I completely divulge my opinion, I must tell you a little about the film. It’s Greek. It has characters and scenes. It has a beginning. It has an ending. You don’t want to take your kids to this. You don’t want to take your darling old grandmother to this. That’s really all you need to know.

I always imagine what a movie will look like before I see it. From trailers and advertisements and posters and pictures, I usually get a very good idea. All I had from this movie I what I listed above. As much as his big mouth might have wanted to, Scott Tobias did not tell me what to expect.

What I found was a very funny and very, very strange movie. The humor was dark. It came when the boy murdered a cat, when the non-elder one started licking people, and when it was announced that the mother would be birthing a dog. The strangeness never gave up. From the first scene, Dogtooth was different.

The performances were extraordinary. I’ve never seen these characters before, but I know they were perfect. They had to be, really, because they were the one ingredient that could not fail. This movie is about it’s characters, the things they do, and why they do the things they do.

Note for those who have seen the ending: Even if she does, she’s never getting out of that trunk. It’s just too late.

(Dogtooth is available now on Netflix Instant.)

