Hot Tub Time Machine (2010)

by George Watches Things

**

This should have been better. It has a decent premise, but is squandered on a bad story and mean-spirited writing. It’s not awful, only the scum of average.

It stars four guys (John Cusack, Craig Robinson, and two other dudes) who go back in time (accidentally), and are confused about what they’re supposed to do from there, just like the movie as a whole is.

I won’t defend the acting. I won’t defend the jokes. In fact, I won’t even defend the characters, which might have been the best thing this movie had going for it. I didn’t buy any of it. I always knew that I was watching a 2010 comedy film, which is not a good thing in this case. The raunch added nothing to the experience, and the “heart felt moments” even less.

I really have nothing else to say about this movie. Go see The Hangover or something good.

Note: It would have been a little bit better had Chevy Chase attempted a Don Knotts impression.

