Source Code (2011)

by George Watches Things

***

I rarely complain about movies being too short. And it’s not even that Duncan Jones’ 2011 film is too short; instead I wish it had followed through on some of the ideas it presented earlier on, instead of wasting it’s time on a very confusing concept, introduced at the end, which may (or may not) have undermined one of it’s main characters.

Without giving too much away, I’ll tell you that this film is about a man and his interactions with a few other people. There, that should do.

One of my biggest problems with this film isn’t it’s multiple endings (which I will get into in a bit), nor it’s failed attempt to Inception us (yes, it’s a verb). My largest misgiving with the movie is that the man we see as Jake Gyllenhaal isn’t actually Jake Gyllenhaal to the Michelle Monaghan character. Therefore, the ending (the second and a half ending, to be precise) isn’t as satisfying as it SHOULD be. In fact, the ending isn’t as satisfying as it WOULD be had the film ended with the scene that made me bawl: the one in which motion stops.

But the movie overcomes these faults, and others (which involve Scott Bakula’s voice, and a one-note character who is vital to the movie), by making you cry. That scene is so emotionally beautiful that I suspect no human being who sees this movie will be able to resist it. It really saves it.

