Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part II (2011)

by George Watches Things

***½ (out of ****)

I will admit that I read all the books, most of them twice, one of them three times. I will further admit that I can tell you how many times I’ve seen each movie. And I will also admit that I liked Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part II (even though it needs a shorter title).

And now, if I may, I would like to structure the rest of my review the way filmmakers structured Parts 1 and 2: business in the front, fun in the back.

This film is a cheapshot at filmmaking. How dare they remove all the necessary faults by having the film released (and reviewed) in two parts? Notice how I said necessary faults. There’s one major unnecessary fault that bothered me throughout the film, and that would be the thorough and unnatural explanations given for every small movement made.

But other than that, yeah, this is a very good movie that I enjoyed a lot. It makes me want to put exclaimations marks at the end of my sentences. The classic good vs. evil… the pace that won’t even let you take a breath… the laugh-out-loud sequences with a very perplexed looking Jim Broadbent.

Most of all, though, you feel so familiar with all these characters, and all these places. And the film exploits that feeling, leaving you completely helpless.

